72° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)- Eagles Roar Past Orediggers

By: Jeremy Anderson Posted at: 02/08/2014 07:25 PM
(Chadron)- The Chadron State College wrestling team won all 10 of its matches en route to a dominating 50-0 Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference victory over Colorado School of Mines Saturday afternoon at the Nelson Physical Activity Center.
"I'm so proud of the guys today," Chadron State head coach Brett Hunter said. "We're right where we want to be this time of year and everyone is on the right track."
The Eagles, now 11-5 and 4-0 at home, controlled the dual from the beginning. Taylor Summers and fourth-ranked Dustin Stodola started things off with a pair of forfeits to give the Eagles a 12-0 lead. Then, at 141 pounds, Jay Stine kept things rolling with a first period pin of Jacob Gerken.
Jacob Anderson and C.J. Clark both cruised to major decision victories at 149 and 157, respectively, and the Eagles led 26-0. Tyler Smart followed with a close match at 165 but a third-period takedown and riding time propelled him to a 6-2 decision over Lawson Fiss.
Caleb Copeland then pinned Joshua Brown of Mines in the first period and Jordan DeBus earned a victory at 184.
The match of the day was at 197 pounds. Devan Fors, who entered Saturday's dual with an 8-10 record, had two early takedowns over eighth-ranked Paul Wilson of Mines and led late in the third period. However, Wilson, who's 15-3, took control of the match after a late takedown and led 5-4. Fors wouldn't be denied, though, and with 20 seconds remaining, executed a reversal and rode Wilson out for the victory.
Following Fors' dramatic win, Chadron State heavyweight Michael Hill pinned David Gifford in the first period.
Chadron State will host Adams State in an RMAC dual Thursday. First match is set for 7 p.m.
Chadron State 50, Colorado Mines 0
125 - Taylor Summers, CSC, won by forfeit
133 - No. 4 Dustin Stodola, CSC, won by forfeit
141 - Jay Stine, CSC, pinned Jacob Gerken, 2:59
149 - Jacob Anderson, CSC, major dec. Justin Ray, 14-2
157 - C.J. Clark, CSC, major dec. Ashton Krajnovich, 15-5
165 - Tyler Smart, CSC, dec. Lawson Fiss, 6-2
174 - Caleb Copeland, CSC, pinned Joshua Brown, 2:46
184 - No. 8 Jordan DeBus, CSC, won by forfeit
197 - Devan Fors, CSC, dec. No. 8 Paul Wilson, 6-5
285 - Michael Hill, CSC, pinned David Gifford, 2:18


Back to Sports

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.