63° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Wyo)-Names Sent To Gov For Sec Of State Appointment

By: John Axtell Posted at: 02/26/2018 01:23 PM
CHEYENNE, Wyo. (AP) - The Wyoming Republican Party Central Committee has sent Governor Matt Mead three nominees to succeed Secretary of State Ed Murray, who abruptly resigned on Feb. 9 after two women accused him of sexual misconduct that they said occurred more than 30 years ago.

     The Central Committee received 8 applicants for the position and over the weekend sent Mead the names of former House Speaker Ed Buchanan of Torrington, former congressional candidate Darin Smith of Cheyenne, and GOP national committeeman Richard George of Cody.
      Mead will appoint a new secretary of state to will serve out the rest of Murray's term, which expires next January. The appointee could file to run for the new 4-year term.

      There are currently just two candidates in the race: Republican State Representative James Byrd and Democratic State Senator Leland Christensen.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.