64° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Wyo)-8 Applicants For Wyo Sec Of State

By: John Axtell Posted at: 02/23/2018 11:46 PM
CHEYENNE, Wyo. (AP) - The Wyoming Republican Party has received eight applications to succeed Secretary of State Ed Murray, who resigned abruptly two weeks ago after two women accused him of sexual misconduct that they said occurred more than 30 years ago.

     GOP Chairman W. Frank Eathorne says the party's State Central Committee will meet tomorrow to select three nominees from the applications and send them to Gov. Matt Mead, who will then appoint a new secretary of state to serve out the rest of Murray's term - which ends next January.

      The best-known of the 8 applicants are Murray's predecessor, Max Maxfield, who served two terms before deciding not to run again in 2014, and current StateAuditor Cynthia Cloud.

     The others are former 7-term state representative Pete Illoway, former Wyoming House Speaker Ed Buchanan of Torrington, GOP national committeeman Richard George,  former congressional candidate Darin Smith, Hot Springs County Clerk Nina Webber, and Robert Elwell of Cheyenne

      There are currently two candidates for the full 4-year term as Secretary of State in November: Republican State Representative James Byrd and Democratic State Senator. Leland Christensen


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.