53° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(SD)-Miss SDSU Crowned Miss South Dakota - Updated

By: John Axtell Posted at: 06/18/2017 12:41 AM
HOT SPRINGS, S.D. -  Miss SDSU Miranda Mack of Redfield is the new Miss South Dakota and will represent the state in the Miss America Pageant this September in Atlantic City. Mack was crowned Saturday night in Hot Springs from a field of 16.

      The 21-year old Mack, a student at South Dakota State, performed the operatic aria "Habanera" for her talent and has All for Music as her platform issue. She received the $500 "Ray Peterson Rookie of the Year" scholarship as the first-year contestant with the highest overall score.

   Talent made up the largest share of the points in determining the winner, accounting for 35% of the total The private interview with the judges was 25%, evening gown 20%), swimsuit 15%, and on-stage question 5%.

     The four winners from the two nights of preliminary competition make up the rest of the Miss South Dakota court. The preliminary talent winners received $1,000 scholarships with the swimsuit winners getting $400.

     Named 1st runner up was 21-year old Miss Rushmore Carrie Wintle of Iriquois, the first night talent winner. She also won the Miracle Maker award for raising the most money for Children's Miracle Network, a $400 scholarship for being the top fundraiser, the $500 State Community Service Award, and the $1000 Miss America Community Service award.

     Friday night swimsuit winner Miss Missouri Valley Evy Johnson, a 22-year old from Firesteel, was 2nd runner up, 3rd runner up was 23-year old Miss Siouxland Rachel Evangelisto of Rapid City, the Thursday swimsuit choice, and the 4th runner up was 18-year old Miss Rapid City Isabel MacLachlan of Rapid City, the second night talent winner.

      Rounding out the top nine semi-finalists were Miss Rolling Plains Isabella Garcia of Sioux Falls, Miss Central States Fair Amber Hulse of Hot Springs, Miss State Fair Carly Goodhart of Sisseton, and Miss Dakota Plains Heather Egbert of Vermillion.

    Hulse received the $800 Top Interview Award while Goodhart was voted the "People's Choice" through online voting and received both an additional $500 scholarship for that title and a spot in the finals.

    Annie Woodmansey of Pierre, Miss Sully County Fair was named the Most Talented Non-Finalist and was named Miss Congeniality by her fellow contestants, bringing her 2 scholarships totaling $900.

      Marley Hanson of Vermillion won the Non-Finalist Interview Award of $500 while Kaitlin O'Neill won the $1,000 Sylvia Tannehill "Kindness" and $500 Children's Miracle Network Legacy scholarships.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.