60° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)-Chadron State College Announces RHOP Names

By: Roxie Graham-Marski Posted at: 03/14/2014 12:30 PM

(CHADRON)-Incoming student participants in the collaborative Rural Health Opportunities Program between Chadron State College (CSC) and the University of Nebraska Medical Center have been named. Jill Mack, director of Health Programs and RHOP at CSC, said, “They are a great group of students, and we look forward to having them here in August.”
Mack said some interviews, which took place in January, were conducted in-person while others were conducted using distance technology. Students must be residents of rural communities in Nebraska to apply for the program. All participants receive full-tuition waivers as long as they remain eligible. The selections for students seeking careers in nine health sciences were based on college entrance examination scores, academic success and leadership exhibited in high school and personal interviews.
RHOP began in 1990 as a joint venture between CSC and UNMC to help counter the shortage of medical professionals in rural Nebraska. Graduates of RHOP are encouraged and expected to return to the rural areas of Nebraska to practice. Students selected as participants in the program take pre-professional training at CSC with guaranteed pre-admittance to one of the UNMC sites if the program’s standards are met. The dental students will take advanced training in Lincoln, the nursing students in Scottsbluff, dental hygiene in Gering and the others in Omaha.
The selections consist of 22 participants and four alternates. Often, the alternates become primary participants before their training at CSC is completed. Following are the selections:
Clinical Lab Science
Participant: Maggie Gahan, David City
Participants: Blake Hansen, Hemingford; Kyndal Holmes, Gothenburg;
Alternate: Tanner Malmkar, North Platte
Participants: Meghan Krajicek, Grand Island; Ashtyn Nelson, Chadron; William "Chase" Oliver, Fremont; Cody Rowley, Lodgepole; Jonathan Sayaloune, Scottsbluff
Alternates: Brianna Bussinger, Valentine; Colton Hall, North Platte
Participants: Hannah Andersen, Chadron; Madison Aufrecht, McCook; Brandi Bailey, Lakeside; Haley Curry, Ericson; Rebekah Mallory, Mullen; Rylee Trout, Alliance
Participants: Alexis Farris, Blair; Courtney McClenahan, Grant; Olivia Salazar, Scottsbluff
Physical Therapy             
Participants: Chelsea Haynes, Auburn; Justine Stone, Maywood
Alternate: Trevor Benge, Hemingford
Physician Assistant
Participant: Shelby Engels, Kearney
Participants: Taylor Bennett, Lexington; Maria Terrazas, Ansley
--CSC Information Services


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.