57° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)- Dawes/Northern Sioux FSA Searching For County Committee Members

By: Jeremy Anderson Posted at: 07/08/2013 10:39 AM

(Chadron)- Farmer and rancher candidate nominations are currently being accepted for the Dawes/Northern Sioux County Farm Service Agency county committee. The nomination period closes Thursday, Aug. 1, 2013, with the election taking place between Friday, Nov. 4th, and the close of business on Monday, Dec. 2nd.
County committees provide a vital link to have local opinions and ideas heard at the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
To be eligible to serve on a Farm Service Agency county committee a person must participate or cooperate in a program administered by FSA, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the local administrative area in which the person is a candidate. Producers may nominate themselves or others and organizations representing minorities and women also may nominate candidates. To become a candidate, an eligible individual must sign the nomination form FSA-669A. The form and other valuable information about FSA county committee elections are available online at: www.fsa.usda.gov/elections
or you may visit any local FSA office to obtain a copy. Nomination forms for the 2013 election must be postmarked or received in the local FSA office by close of business on Aug. 1, 2013.
FSA county committee members make decisions on disaster and conservation programs, emergency programs, commodity price support loan programs and other important agricultural issues. Committee members are a critical component of the day-to-day operations of FSA. They help deliver FSA farm programs at the local level. Farmers who serve on committees help decide the kind of programs their counties will offer. They work to make FSA agricultural programs serve the needs of local producers.
Members serve three-year terms. In Nebraska, committees consist of three to five members who are elected by eligible producers.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.