73° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)-More Panhandle Counties Now Designated 'Livestock Friendly'

By: Roxie Graham-Marski Posted at: 09/26/2012 09:38 AM

(KIMBALL)-Gov. Dave Heineman has announced the official designation of Kimball and Banner Counties as Nebraska’s newest Livestock Friendly Counties. With the addition of these two, there are now 20 counties designated as Livestock Friendly through the state program, including: Adams, Box Butte, Cuming, Dawes, Deuel, Gage, Garden, Grant, Hitchcock, Jefferson, Keith, Lincoln, Morrill, Saline, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, Wayne, and Webster Counties.
“In receiving this designation, Kimball and Banner Counties have shown they are committed to supporting the counties’ livestock industry and related economic development,” said Gov. Heineman. “Being part of the Livestock Friendly program is a way to recognize the tremendous impact the livestock industry has on Main Streets and the local economy. It provides jobs for those working with animals and a marketplace for grain and hay producers, while also adding value to those products. With this designation, Kimball and Banner Counties have demonstrated they are open to agribusiness and the benefits that come from responsible livestock production.”
Gov. Heineman presented the Livestock Friendly certificates to Kimball County Commissioners Larry Brower, Larry Engstrom and David Bashaw, and to Banner County Commissioners Bob Gifford, Bob Post and John-Robert Faden. These counties will receive road signs bearing the program logo to display along highways.
The program is coordinated by the Nebraska Department of Agriculture. Department of Agriculture Director Greg Ibach said the official designation makes a positive statement about Kimball and Banner Counties. “It was clear from the submitted materials that Kimball and Banner county officials have given some purposeful thought to supporting the livestock industry,” said Ibach.
To apply for a livestock friendly county designation, the county board must hold a public hearing and pass a resolution to apply. A completed application is then submitted to Department of Agriculture for review. Local producers or community groups can encourage their county board to submit a livestock friendly county application. Additional information on the Livestock Friendly County program is available by contacting NDA toll free at 800-422-6692, or by visiting the Department of Agriculture website at www.agr.ne.gov and clicking the Livestock Friendly County link.
--The office of Governor Heineman


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.