67° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)-Woodhead Named To NCAA D-II 40th Anniversary Team

By: Dennis and Kathi Brown Posted at: 02/28/2013 01:09 PM
Woodhead named to NCAA D-II 40th Anniversary Team
CHADRON - In celebration of the 40th Anniversary of NCAA Division II, former Chadron State College football player Danny Woodhead has been selected as one of 48 student-athletes who are set to be honored by the NCAA throughout 2013.
The 40th Anniversary Tribute Team highlights one male and one female from each of the division’s 23 current conferences, plus two at-large nominees.
Conferences were asked to submit a list of nominees representative of Division II’s ideals. The only requirement was that nominees exhausted their eligibility within the past 40 years and attended a college or university active in Division II.
Woodhead, a North Platte native, played at Chadron State from 2004-07 and ended his career as the NCAA’s all-time leading rusher while also scoring 109 touchdowns in his career.
Woodhead is currently in his fourth year in the NFL and third with the New England Patriots. In 55 career games, he has 1,263 yards rushing and 100 catches for 1,069 yards. He has scored 14 total touchdowns, including one in Super Bowl XLVI.
Elva Martinez-Dryer, a cross country and track and field student-athlete from Western State, is the other RMAC nominee.
Each member of the Division II 40th Anniversary Tribute Team will receive a commemorative 40th Anniversary gift.
The NCAA Division II 40th Anniversary Tribute Team
California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA)
Violet Palmer (Cal Poly Pomona Women’s Basketball, 1984-88)
Chris Wondolowski (Chico State Men’s Soccer, 2001-04)
Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference (CACC)
Michelle DePolo (Georgian Court University Women’s Basketball; Soccer; Softball, 1999-03)
Nicholas Harriott (Caldwell College Men’s Soccer, 2004-08)
Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA)
Barvenia Wooten-Cherry (Virginia Union University Women’s Basketball, 1980-83)
Timmy Newsome (Winston-Salem State University Football, 1976-80)
Conference Carolinas (CC)
Stephanie Ferri-Lewis (Pfeiffer University Women’s Cross Country; Soccer; Swimming, 1991-94)
Clint Bryant (Belmont Abbey College Men’s Basketball, 1973-77)
East Coast Conference (ECC)
Donna Orender (Queens College Women’s Basketball, 1975-78)
Brian Kilmeade (LIU Post Men’s Soccer, 1982-86)
Great American Conference (GAC)
Janet Cherobon-Bawcom (Harding University Women’s Cross Country; Track and Field, 2000-05)
Drew Beard (Southeastern Oklahoma State University Football, 2001-04)
Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC)
Gail Goestenkors (Saginaw Valley State University Women’s Basketball, 1981-85)
Tom Izzo (Northern Michigan University Men’s Basketball, 1973-77)
Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC)
Sandra Magnus (Missouri S&T Women’s Soccer, 1983-86)
Larry Tucker (Lewis University Men’s Basketball, 1979-83)
Great Northwest Athletic Conference (GNAC)
Mallory Holtman-Fletcher (Central Washington University Softball, 2005-08)
Grant Dykstra (Western Washington University Men’s Basketball, 2002-06)
Gulf South Conference (GSC)
Rachel Price-Bell and Ronda Price-Brinley (University of North Alabama Volleyball, 1996-00)
Radovan Chrz (University of West Florida Men’s Tennis, 2000-04)
Heartland Conference (HC)
Kelsey Baird (St. Edward’s University Women’s Soccer, 2005-09)
Collin Mayer (St. Edward’s University Men’s Golf, 2007-10)
Lone Star Conference (LSC)
Dr. Tammi Julch-Williams (Texas Women’s University Basketball, 1990-94)
Roberto Garza (Texas A&M University-Kingsville Football; Track & Field, 1997-2000)
Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association (MIAA)
Teri Clemens (Truman State University Volleyball, 1974-78)
Jim Crane (University of Central Missouri Baseball, 1973-76)
Northeast-10 Conference (NE-10)
Johannah Leedham (Franklin Pierce University Women's Basketball, 2006-10)
J. Terence Carleton (Bentley College Men’s Soccer, 1973-76)
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (NSIC)
Lauren Brown (Winona State University Women’s Track and Field; Volleyball, 2007-10)
Bob Bowlsby (Minnesota State University Moorhead Wrestling, 1972-75)
Pacific West Conference (PacWest)
Samantha Murphy (Grand Canyon University Women’s Basketball, 2007-11)
Tsung-Hsien “Jet” Chang (BYU-Hawaii Men’s Basketball, 2010-12)
Peach Belt Conference (PBC)
Dr. Amy Amundson-Smith (Georgia College and State University Women’s Basketball, 1989-92)
Stilian Shishkov (Lander University Men’s Soccer, 1993-95)
Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC)
Lori Pio-Jacques (East Stroudsburg University Women’s Basketball, 1993-96)
David Williams (Bloomsburg University Men’s Tennis, 1978-81)
Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (RMAC)
Elva Martinez-Dryer (Western State Colorado University Women’s Cross Country; Track and Field, 1991-95)
Danny Woodhead (Chadron State College Football, 2004-07)
South Atlantic Conference (SAC)
Kate Griewisch (Lenoir-Rhyne University Women’s Cross Country; Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field, 2009-12)
Patrick Bartlett (Wingate University Men’s Basketball; Soccer; Tennis, 1996-00)
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC)
Selina B. Kohn (Albany State University Women’s Basketball, 1990-94)
Edwin Moses (Morehouse College, 1974-78)
Sunshine State Conference
Anna Hallbergson (Barry University Women’s Tennis, 1997-2000):
Ken Corigliano (Saint Leo University Men’s Cross Country, 2002-06)
West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WVIAC)
Mindy Young-Gagliardi (University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown Women’s Basketball, 1988-92)
Sean Isgan (University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown Wrestling, 1977-82)
At-Large (NCAA)
Sheila Baxter (Virginia State University Women’s Basketball, 1973-77)
Shane Carwin (Western State Colorado University Football and Wrestling, 1995-99)


Back to Sports

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.