40° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)-Eagles Rally Past ThunderWolves

By: Dennis and Kathi Brown Posted at: 01/10/2013 10:25 PM

CHADRON – Thanks to three consecutive victories to close the match, the Chadron State College wrestling team earned a 25-18 win over Colorado State University-Pueblo in their dual Thursday evening at the Nelson Physical Activity Center.
The win was the first home victory for the Eagles, 5-3 overall and 1-1 in the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, this season.
“We had a great crowd tonight and I was happy we wrestled well in front of them. Getting that first win at home always feels good,” interim head coach Brett Hunter said. “Pueblo is a well-coached team and we knew we had to come out ready to compete. I'm proud we matched their intensity and we earned this win as a team.”
The match started out quickly in Pueblo's (1-3) favor when No. 1 ranked Jesse Hillhouse pinned Jace Johnson at 125 pounds in the first period.
However, the Eagles posted bonus points in their next two bouts when Perry McAfee won by injury default at 133 and Leandro Arias followed with a pin over Pueblo's Adam Ortivez early in the third period at 141.
Pueblo's Jimmy Chase tied the dual at 12-12 after pinning Reed Burgener at 149 late in the third period and the ThunderWolves proceeded to take the lead after Nick Stahler earned a gritty 4-3 decision over Bryce Wiedeman at 157.
Dylan Fors at 165 responded for the Eagles when he gutted out a 5-3 decision over Trevor Grant but the ThunderWolves went back on top after Ray Hall claimed a narrow 3-2 decision over Devan Fors at 174 pounds.
The Eagles then took control of the match, beginning with Jordan Debus' strong 5-2 decision over Adam Carey at 184.
Chris Leak followed with an inspired 18-6 major decision at 197 over Bill Gray and Michael Hill won by a 2-0 decision over Niko Bogojevic at heavyweight.
Chadron State will host Colorado Mesa University Thursday, Jan. 17. The first match will begin at 7 p.m.
Chadron State 25, CSU-Pueblo 18
125 – No. 1 Jesse Hillhouse, CSUP, pinned Jace Johnson, 2:39
133 – Perry McAfee, CSC, won by injury default over James Harvey
141 – Leandro Arias, CSC, pinned Adam Ortivez, 5:16
149 – Jimmy Chase, CSUP, pinned Reed Burgener, 6:33
157 – Nick Stahler, CSUP, dec. Bryce Wiedeman, 4-3
165 – Dylan Fors, CSC, dec. Trevor Grant, 5-3
174 – Ray Hall, CSUP, dec. Devan Fors, 3-2
184 – Jordan Debus, CSC, dec. Adam Carey, 5-2
197 – Chris Leak, CSC, major dec. Bill Gray, 18-6
285 – Michael Hill, CSC, dec. Niko Bogojevic, 2-0


Back to Sports

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.