57° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(S.D.)-President Obama Signs State Blizzard Disaster Declaration

By: Roxie Graham-Marski Posted at: 11/08/2013 04:31 PM
     PIERRE, S.D. (ASSOCIATED PRESS) - Gov. Dennis Daugaard says President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration allowing 14 South Dakota counties and two American Indian reservations to get federal financial help to recover from the early October blizzard.
     Preliminary estimates showed nearly $38 million in damages to public and private nonprofit property. Costs included debris removal, repair of rural electric cooperative power lines and repair of roads and other infrastructure damaged by storm-related flooding. Other costs include snow removal in six counties with record snowfalls.
     The disaster declaration authorizes the federal government to cover up to 75 percent of eligible costs. Counties eligible for assistance are Butte, Corson, Custer, Dewey, Fall River, Haakon, Harding, Jackson, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington, Perkins, Shannon and Ziebach, as well as the Cheyenne River and Pine Ridge reservations.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.