80° F
Current Conditions
Radio Station Info Staff Advertising Job Opportunities Contact Us

Listen Live

Click Here To

Sign Our Guest Book

RSS Feed

KCSR Annual EEO Report
KBPY Annual EEO Report

(Neb.)-Students To Be Honored At Kiwanis Honors Program On Thursday

By: Roxie Graham-Marski Posted at: 04/22/2013 09:52 AM

(CHADRON)-About 80 Chadron High School students will be the guests of honor on Thursday, April 25th, at the 55th annual Kiwanis Honors Program in the high school auditorium, starting at 1:30 p.m. The program will be open to the public.
            Honorees include the Gold Honor Roll students, the 14 students who earned medals at this year’s Chadron State College Scholastic Contest, Chadron’s three Cornhusker Girls State delegates, the Hugh O’Brien Youth program delegate, and seniors who will receive Presidential Academic Excellence Awards.
            Also to be recognized, freshman Shoilee Rahman, who recently won first place in an essay contest sponsored by the Nebraska Bar Association Foundation.
            The guest speaker will be Col. Kim Henningsen of Hot Springs, who is a military combat veteran. He has worked in defense intelligence, helped bring peace in South Africa, and worked in the Central Intelligence Agency headquarters in Washington, D.C., before teaching math and coaching basketball in Hot Springs for more than a decade.
            Henningsen is a 1968 graduate of the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. After going through airborne and ranger training, he was sent to Vietnam and was leading a recon platoon that was ambushed by the North Vietnamese army. He was burned on over 60 percent of his body and was hospitalized for a year before returning to Vietnam as an adviser to a South Vietnamese Ranger Battalion.
            Much of the remainder of his 34-year military career was focused in Africa. He visited every major country on the continent, and he and his family lived in Zimbabwe and South Africa for eight years.
            During this period, he was promoted to colonel and became the defense department’s action officer in Africa. Henningsen drafted the peace plan calling for the disengagement of South African military forces and the Cuban/Soviet-supported Angolan forces. After the treaty was signed, he was appointed as the Defense and Army attaché and worked on political and military issues to help end apartheid and minority rule in South Africa.
            Henningsen’s last two years in the Army were at CIA Headquarters in Washington, D.C., where he served as a liaison officer in the Operations Directorate responsible for Africa. He retired from the Army in June 1998 and moved back to South Dakota. He spent the next 13 years as a Hot Springs High School teacher and coach. He and his wife Rachel live in Hot Springs.
            The Gold Honor Roll students who will be presented certificates are:
Seniors Nicky Applegarth,  Lane Chasek, Carly Churchill, Joanne DeRosa, Cole Dockweiler, Maggie Earney, Ashlyn Eitemiller, Cortland Goffena, Briley Hannaford,  Larissa Hastings, Kelli Haynes, Calen Johnson, Brittany Kouba, Michael Kruse, Abigail McFee, Jasmine McLain, Terran Merriman-Honerkamp, Cy Rayhill, Colby Riesen,  Dillon Vogt.
Juniors Jenna Banzhaf, Alec Burk, Cali Crile, Elizabeth Darnell, Maaryn Davis, Spencer Eliason, Kaylee Gaswick, Logan Lembke, Kodi Milburn, Ashtyn Nelson, Kristavia Passero,  Caston Stack, Tatum Westemeier.
Sophomores Sydney Blome, Bradly Cerny, Shay Chamberlain, Jackson Dickerson, Shawn Eitemiller, Aaron Gaswick, Joshua  Hill, Keenan Johnson, Veronica Parish, Brittani Piontek, Alaina Riesen, Trace Strotheide, Sara Tompkins, Alex Westerbuhr.
Freshmen Amrit Chima, Muphry Churchill, Aly Crow, Tate Cullers, Toni Doescher, Zachery Fankhauser, Jayden Garrett, Mikaela Hastings, Hannah Jamison, Allie Johnson, Harlie Kennell, Marcus LaPorte, Clay Madsen, Gregory McCallum, Kiya Passero, Tiffani Pile, Shoilee Rahman, Simon Rischling, Naleka Sayaloune, Seth Sloan, Jayden Stack, Kane Wellnitz.


Back to News

Printer Friendly Version

Send Story to a friend.